David North, chairman of the International Editorial Board of the World Socialist Web Site, will deliver the concluding lecture in the ICFI series marking the centenary of the Russian Revolution, "The Place of the October Revolution in World History and Contemporary Politics."

This lecture will be streamed live on this page on November 11 at 1:00 pm EST (6:00pm in London, 7:00pm in Berlin, 9:00pm in Moscow and 5:00 am Sunday in Sydney. Full Time Zone Conversions). It will also be streamed at Facebook.com/wsws.org

If you have not registered, please do so using the button below to receive updates.

About the lecture:

In the aftermath of the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991, there emerged a new consensus among bourgeois academics that the Russian Revolution was little more than a political accident, an illegitimate and even criminal departure from the “normal” – i.e., capitalist – course of historical development. The monumental international political impact of the October Revolution and immense economic, social and cultural achievements of the Soviet Union were ignored and dismissed.

And yet, despite these claims, the October Revolution will live in history as the most significant political event of the twentieth century. The study of this revolution is an essential prerequisite for finding an answer to the worldwide crisis of the twenty-first century.

About the lecturer:

David North is chairman of the WSWS International Editorial Board. He has been a leader of the socialist movement for four decades. He is an expert on the history of the Russian Revolution and the author of numerous works, including In Defense of Leon Trotsky and The Russian Revolution and the Unfinished 20th Century.

Questions for David North?

Submit your questions and comments here.

Refresh comments

Sale Price: $16.95


Sale Price: $19.95


Sale Price: $11.95


Sale Price: $28.00


Sale Price: $24.95